Letting go;

courtesy of http://www.thegoodelife.typepad.com

I have a hard time letting go of people. I will try to hold onto friendships as much as I can. I will put in effort & get nothing back but I will still persist & not give up. By letting go, I feel like I failed to maintain a long term friendship. It must be a characteristic of mine, to think I fail if it doesn’t work. Only recently, I’ve started to realise there’s two people involved in this failure. Lately, I’ve re-evaluated my friendships. I’ve realised some were toxic. I’ve realised some have fallen apart beyond repair. And I’ve realised we’ve just grown apart. It’s no ones fault. We’re all going in our own directions. I can’t stop that from happening.

Today, I look back at all the fun times we’ve had in the past few years & I’m letting myself accept the fact that is all it is-the past.

I guess sometimes it’s okay to let go. I have people in my life who have been there for me since I was 7 and there’s people I met only this year but mean everything to me.

Today, I’m letting go of some old friends & I’m okay with it. I have amazing people around me who actually care about me & I know it.

2 thoughts on “Letting go;

  1. It’s the way life is, everything is always changing, nothing is constant. Most people you meet in life are only going to be your close friends for a limited period of time (like while you’re in school together, or while you’re working together) when the circumstances change and you’re not close knit anymore (i.e. not in school or working together) then your relationship changes too. It’s only natural, because your lives are constantly changing and going in different directions, sometimes you meet people who are going in the same direction as you and that makes you capable of being friends for a while but when things change, sometimes that effects the friendship to – you don’t have as much in common and the friendship takes a toll because of it. As you said, cherish what you’ve had together and accept that your friendship needs to be archived now. And remember that you’ll constantly be meeting new people in life, new friends and new aqaintences. Some will last forever, others will give you memories for life but then join your other friends in your archive.

  2. I’ve been at this point before and I compared friendships with roads. There are roads all around the world, some are short, some are long, but wherever you are, you will always find a road 🙂 but yes you’re definitely right. It’s me who’s changed. We used to always hang out within a certain music genre and now, my direction has changed and we’re no longer in the same group. I’m your true definition of a drifter! But I think I’ve found where I belong now 🙂 for now….

Leave a Reply

