Helping others;

I spent all weekend working on an essay about Veolia, a multinational company that provides water & waste management, environmental services and transport. One aspect I focused on was the good things this company does for the community through their foundation (more info found here). I got reading and it was one of those moments where I felt incredibly touched. Just reading all the projects they have been involved in, has inspired me to look into doing some volunteer work.

I’m interested in doing something overseas, and with 450 projects on the website, I’ve got a lot of thinking to do.

2 thoughts on “Helping others;

  1. Sounds like an awesome plan! I also intend to try to keep up with my volunteer work at the hospital for as long as I can and have time. And hopefully I’ll always (throughout my life) do some kind of volunteer work to help other people in one way or another.

    I’m still so stressed out about baking at the hospital though, yesterday really got my heart racing. I was working so fast and stressing out so much that I got such a stomach ache and as I was standing and writing my little note of what I’d baked (like I always do, and then I leave it for the staff so they know what all the stuff is) the room started spinning and I felt like I was going to pass out. The stomach ache didn’t go away all afternoon and in the evening, when I was going to make dinner, I started feeling nauseous. Ugh, I hope I can be calmer next time.

    • Yeah, see I can’t commit my time regularly! Makes plans very difficult! I can however commit money or blocks of time that I can prepare for. That’s why I’d be interested in going away for a few weeks a year to do volunteer work. I met a girl in Amsterdam that was doing volunteer work all over Europe in the winter & it meant she could travel too as she had heaps of spare time. Perfect!

      Is there anyway you could decrease your expectations? Like not do such a big amount in one go?

Leave a Reply

