Simplicity

I was talking to Lo tonight about how I’m considering going over to Cambodia and Vietnam next year to do some volunteer work and Lo also, is keen on going. We joked about the fact that soon, we’re going to have nothing left because after Europe, we’re both trying to get rid of all the unnecessary things we own. Backpacking and living in a suitcase really changes your views on things, namely items. I was throwing away scarfs and jackets along the way as I simply didn’t have any room in my backpack nor was it worth it to send home.

And this is coming from the girl that NEVER throws anything away. I always argued that I will need it as soon as I throw it out but I don’t think that’s the case anymore. I’ve developed this whole new attitude where I have zero attachment and it’s a great feeling.

At the moment, I’m setting up a blog for all my skirts and dresses, all my recent stuff that I’ve bought thinking, “this is cute, I can wear it to a wedding or a formal dinner”. Those events never came.

Someone argued with me recently that there’s no such thing as simplicity. I think I’m on my way to proving them wrong.

2 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. I’m pretty good at living simplistically, and especially since I started keeping track of every little bit of money I spend. Seeing my expenses and how quickly my salary disappears definitely motivates me to steer clear of buying anything unnecessary, I often find myself asking if I can live without something before I buy it. But I’ve got my weak moments too and I spent too much money on take away coffees, what can I say? It’s my little treat! 🙂

    • Even though I’ve been using excel for years, I still don’t know how to do those tables! I might get my mum to help me cause using a paper budget is a little old school 😛 Every week I adjust the figures haha if I ever lost that piece of paper, I would be a mess! Wouldn’t know what money was for what! (I have a bills account with each thing on different amounts and same with my savings account!

      I’m going to start a chocolate tally & see how much money I spend on chocolate a year! I bet it’ll be close to the same amount as coffee addicts lol

Leave a Reply

