Memories of New Zealand

N, B & I- January 2006

Tonight I had a long conversation with my friend N in New Zealand. I refer to him as The Canadian because ever since we first met, on the first day of high school in 2004, I’ll never forget the first thing he said…”Does anyone have a pun?” (pen). Funnily enough, he still sounds Canadian now.

It was one of those conversations where you speak about anything and everything. We spoke about work, uni, surf life saving, training, relationships, family traveling, money, experiences, friends, ex friends, music, religion, mistakes and much more. He’s probably one of my truest friends, the one that has remained a constant in my life since the beginning of high school and talking about our future and where we want to be, he’s the kind of person that no matter where he is in the world, he’ll always be a good friend.

He’s going to Europe just before I fly home to NZ in July which is really sad because I was looking forward to going down to Piha for a few nights with him like last summer but I guess that will have to wait until this summer coming.

Here’s some photos from last summer (January 2010) when we went out to Piha, located on the West Coast of Auckland, New Zealand.

I spent most weekends throughout high school going down to Piha, a 40 minute drive from the city. In the summer of 2005/2006, I did life saving here with N & we spent all weekend staying at the surf lifesaving club house. Every summer, I used to come down here for a week or so and just relax.

I’ve grown up dreaming of owning a holiday house down here, looking over these photos only deepens my desire to return and one day be able to look out my own beach house window and see this exact view. Until then, I’ll just lease houses down here.

I can’t wait until my New Zealand summer coming up.

3 thoughts on “Memories of New Zealand

    • But think about it, my parents grew up in the north pole too so maybe you can be the first one to raise kids in a “paradise”? NZ is the most desirable place in the world, I bet you’ll love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

