My hometown

Although I wasn’t born here, I moved to Auckland when I was five and wouldn’t consider anything else to be my home. My friend is moving to Auckland next month & just found a place to live today. It made me pull up a map & I realised it’s been a long time since I’ve looked at a map of Auckland.

I work with maps all day everyday at work so I’m very used to seeing Perth city so looking at Auckland was a refreshing site. It’s so much smaller than I remember. That ‘A’ is where I used to live. I zoomed in and just looking at all the streets, made me think back to growing up. All my friends lived within 2 mins drive in the same neighbourhood. But back then, we didn’t drive, we either walked or rode our bikes.

Auckland is a massive part of who I am & talking to N last night made me appreciate it so much more. It’s only a matter of time until I move back. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ll settle down in New Zealand, there’s just a few things I have to do first.

See if you can spot Piha on the map above!

2 thoughts on “My hometown

  1. I think I spotted Piha, is it down in the left corner, second from the bottom? Just the other day I went on google maps and looked at Marblehead, MA where I’ve spent several summers and where I met S. I’ll be going there this summer too. My cousins live there. Just looking at the satellite photos of the town brings back so many memories!

    • Yes that’s the one 🙂 It’s pretty far out of the city but that’s what I love about it. It doesn’t stop people from going there though, that’s for sure!

      I can’t wait to see more pictures of Marblehead, see where you used to spend your summers 🙂

Leave a Reply

