Obstacles

Things don’t always go to plan.  I was meant to board a plane on Tuesday last week, getting to Melbourne in the morning. Turns out, the flight was overbooked and because I was travelling on staff discounts, I wasn’t allowed on.

I went home & then back to the airport in the morning after I saw there was an empty flight to Brisbane at 9:15. I got to the counter to check in just as the girl closed the flight. Just my luck.

I stood there for a second and thought about cancelling my trip home. The thought of it made me even sadder so after a quick phone call to my dad, I ran for the sales desk and booked a flight with another airline that left at 10am.

One way to New Zealand cost me just as much as it cost me to go to London with a budget airline last year but at the end of the day, it’s just money and all we do in life is waste money. I do believe everything happens for a reason though. I got to travel with a really good airline, something I haven’t done in years. The service was amazing, the food was included in the ticket price and I also got to watch movies on the flight.

One movie I watched, Soul Surfer was exactly what I needed to see. If you haven’t heard about Bethany Hamilton, she’s a Hawaiian surfer that lost an arm when she was bitten by a tiger shark surfing North Shore in Hawaii in 2003. The movie was based on what happened to her and I was balling my eyes out the whole time. If she can still get back on the board and surf just as well with one arm as she did with two, what the hell do we all complain about?

Life is all about obstacles. If there were no obstacles, you wouldn’t learn any lessons and you wouldn’t grow. I’m now flying back to Australia and looking back on the whole flight drama I experienced last week, I’m glad it happened. I had a good flight over to New Zealand and I was only there 8 hours after my scheduled flight. It made me realize I can’t rely on staff travel if I want to get somewhere on time, so at least when I fly back to New Zealand for Christmas, I’ll have a full priced flight going there paid for well in advance.  Who knows, maybe I’ll even treat myself to the same top airline so I can have a good, enjoyable flight over!

2 thoughts on “Obstacles

  1. I often say life would be so boring without setbacks or obstacles. Just like you’re saying. I mean, there’s gotta be something worth fighting for, worth striving for. Goals and dreams are so important and without them (and the path to them, including obstacles), what is there to live for?

    • Exactly! What is life without its windy roads. And if there’s anything I’ve learnt, anything travel related is always a lesson. You learn so much more by your downfalls I think.

Leave a Reply

