Merry Christmas!

Christmas lunch

My flight into New Zealand was delayed so instead of flying in 11PM Christmas eve, I touched down at 3AM Christmas morning. No such thing as a sleep in because we were opening presents and drinking champagne by 9AM. I spent Christmas day with my best friend S and her family, who after 14 years, feels like my own family.

We had breakfast at her mums house and then went to her dads for lunch with the extended family. I don’t have a very big family and because we’re spread out between Australia, New Zealand and Russia, it makes family gatherings very small. Most years, I choose to spend Christmas with a big group, either friends and their parents or like last year, with a bunch of other Christmas orphans (friends in another country with no family- not actual orphans!).

This Christmas was awesome. Drinking in the sun, spending the day with the family I’ve grown up with, S’s sister, step-sisters, mum, dad, step-parents, grandparents and I even met an uncle that is a property valuer! (what I’m studying at university).

Here’s some pictures from the day:

One of my favourite houses with its indoor/outdoor flow

Lunch preparations

Possibly the healthiest meal I’ve eaten in 2 weeks!

Christmas Day was amazing. I’m hoping I get another invite next year…

7 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

  1. It looks amazing, and at the same time so weird because I’ve never experienced a warm, sunny Christmas. Even this year when we’ve had an unusually warm winter (thus far) it wasn’t exactly sunny and “shorts weather”.

  2. Good web site you have here.. It’s hard to find high-quality
    writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

Leave a Reply

