Fast forward 5 years;

On the 1st of March 2007, I moved from Auckland, New Zealand to Perth, Western Australia. I was quite happy in New Zealand, I was with a guy I loved and I was surrounded by my childhood and high school friends. So when my parents decided to move 5,000km’s away from that, I was a little pissed.

I acted like your typical out of control teenager: I didn’t come home for days on end, I didn’t tell them where I was going, I refused to talk to them on a number of occasions and I even skipped countries a few months after the move (which only lasted 4 weeks until I came crawling back).

Now fast forward to 2012, I am finally on track. I’m working and studying, I have a great relationship with my parents and so it turns out, the move wasn’t the end of the world.

Since moving, I’ve been back home 5 times and every time I go back, everything feels the same. Sure, my friends have grown up, some have drifted away and some new ones have appeared, but all in all, everything has remained fairly constant.

The move turned out to be the best thing for me as it made me reassess what I was doing & who I was hanging out with. I was on a dangerous road down & I’m glad I had a second chance. So here’s a task for you:

Make a list of everything you’ve achieved in the past 5 years and write down what you want out of the next 5 years. I can guarantee you will be amazed at what you have accomplished already!

One thought on “Fast forward 5 years;

  1. It was the same for me when I was 12 and we moved from the north of Sweden to Stockholm. I hated it. I was so upset for the first years when we moved here, I was unhappy in school and just hated life. I know now that moving to Stockholm gave me more opportunities (more options for school, work etc.) than living up north (on the countryside) would have given me. I’m definitely going to do that task, it’s so easy to feel like I haven’t done anything in the past five years but then when I think about it and start to write it down it’s quite a list.

Leave a Reply

