Didn’t last very long;

Image source: google

My bar work experience lasted 6 weeks. At first, it was fun working Saturday nights, listening to music that I love, being in a social environment and feeling like I was going out. I wasn’t at uni then so I had nothing else to do with my time. But now that uni started 2 weeks ago, just working 1 night at the bar a week was starting to take a toll.

Even though the shift was only 6 hours max, I still had to come home on Saturday’s at 3 or 4pm to have a nap, make dinner and get ready. Then, I would get home around 3-5am in the morning and my body never managed to sleep past 9am on Sundays. Lack of sleep Saturday night meant I would be exhausted by 4-5pm and ready for bed on Sunday nights .

When I’m already working full time & attending uni lectures on week nights, my only times to study are on weekends. And as I learnt last year, the best time to study for me was in the mornings until midday.

For now, it’s going to be just the one job and uni. Time to get my budget planning in action instead!

2 thoughts on “Didn’t last very long;

  1. I’m glad to hear you’re not overworking and instead listening to what your body needs and what YOU need. If you set your mind to it, you’ll have absolutely no problem budget planning, from what I’ve seen (when you came to Europe), you’re an expert at it! 🙂

    • Yes I am taking the advice of “don’t sweat the small stuff” and one of the chapters said, “will this matter in a years time?” no, it won’t matter if I made a few extra dollars a week but it will matter if I fail another unit!

      Just means I have to stop living my champagne lifestyle….sigh!

Leave a Reply

