Empty;

This week, I gave back the keys for what was my home for the past 7 months. I’m not sure if it was the last visit to the place or the fact that my old housemate KM has left for Dubai, but I’ve been feeling rather down. As soon as my alarm clock has gone off at 5:38am, I have dreaded the days ahead of work all day & uni at night. I guess since moving 40 minutes away from work & uni 3 weeks ago, it’s taking its toll on me. I come home exhausted, with no motivation to do any uni assignments….even though one is due this Friday & another next week.

This isn’t like me so I’m hoping this feeling goes away soon. I hired a treadmill yesterday which will be arriving tomorrow but I’m afraid it’s 2 weeks too late. But like that old cliche` goes, better late than never huh? I’m just thinking back to this time last year when I hired a treadmill and just how much it improved my moods and my studying….cannot wait to be in that mind frame again!

8 thoughts on “Empty;

  1. That makes two of us. I don’t know why but the past week I’ve been feeling rather down and no matter what I do (or how great the weather is, or how awesome my workout is, or how good a grade I get) I just can’t seem to get out of this down mood. It’s always a funny feeling leaving a place and seeing it empty like that though, the thought always crosses my mind that it’s the very last time in my life (probably) that I’ll ever be there.

    • Yeah I have found myself going in cycles of happy. Someone will make me smile or laugh but eventually I’ll just go back to being stressed/upset/down. I thought I was all better last night after my boost of motivation to study but something managed to bring me down again today.

      I’m putting it down to the fact that I’m not coping as well as most days with changes. You know when you’re super sensitive to things & peoples remarks? That’s me this week!

  2. I remember all too well the feelings that you’re going through when I was working full time and studying full time and the only thing that got me through was remembering it WILL end and I will be so proud when I get through it all. Id literally envision handing in whatever assignment was stressing me out and it would spur me on to finish it. Just take some you time too – as much as you dont have the time to do that, setting yourself an two or three hours where u can do a few little things you love (take a bath, read a gossip magazine, go and get a coffee) whilst not thinking once about the assignments due, the bills coming up etc will put you in the here and now moment which should hopefully de stress you a little (p.s the treadmill will help hugely – I would be lost without my daily workout!) xx

    • That’s exactly what I did tonight! I went for a walk on the treadmill, read a book in the bath & now spending the rest of the evening reading blogs and emailing. Tomorrow is a new day, dedicated to finishing off assignments!

      I’m glad I’m not the only one attempting/managed to do both! You are living proof it is possible!

  3. I’m so sorry you’ve been feeling down! I experienced the same sort of thing recently. I suddenly moved out of my dorm into an apartment(30 minutes away) in the middle of the semester. It was hard to adjust to not living with a roommate, and living so far from school…but it does get better! Good luck!

    Ellie

    • Yeah I guess I’ve forgotten how unsettling it is to move half way through a semester! The added pressure all of my assignments really got to me last week! Luckily, I have 1 more assignment left this semester and then it’s exam time.

      Swear I’m going to age 10 years before I finish this degree! haha

Leave a Reply

