Why I love winter;

Melinda at Mumma in Heels came up with a new idea for blog posts called ‘Let’s Write’. This weeks one is ‘What do you love about winter?’ and I couldn’t wait to write about it.

If my blog name (winterlust) doesn’t give you some sort of indication…I ADORE winter. I don’t know if it’s because I was born in Russia where I was surrounded by snow or the fact I grew up in New Zealand where it rained 90% of the time, but living in Perth has made me miss & constantly chase the chill.

Weird I know, since nearly everyone I know prefers the heat over the cold. I do enjoy summer, when I’m on holiday or it’s the weekend but when I’m driving & it’s hot, frustration rises. Or when I’m going between 16 degree offices and 35 degree heat waves outside….I do not enjoy that.

As soon as it’s slightly chilly, I’ll probably be the first to throw on a coat and boots. I don’t think it’s ever possible to own enough coats!  Short, long, tweed, trench…I’m obsessed! Then there’s the various types of knitwear and head wear and scarves.

And if the fashion isn’t enough, there’s the fireplaces, the cosy nights in, the hot baths and showers, hot chocolates and the overall alertness you feel in the colder months.

Maybe I feel like this because I don’t get enough cold weather, and it’s been 16 years since I lived in Russia, but I do hope to experience this again soon….for more than the 3 months I got last year.

If you love winter as much as Melinda & I, check out her pinterest board HERE.

8 thoughts on “Why I love winter;

  1. I definitely like summer more, but can appreciate winter. I love waking up to a pure white blanket of snow or the first snow fall of the season, but I’m always cold. So it’s nice when summer comes!

  2. Thank you for joining in! It’s been so lovely to read everyone’s different thoughts and experiences on Winter.

    What a beautiful photo… the snow looks so white and magical. Xx

  3. Anya you’re not alone here, I also adore Winter (I actually adore all seasons, I have no favourite). I get beyond excited when it’s colder and I can rug up and keep warm and watch the rain fall all day from my office window. I can see myself at ‘the hangout’ in front of that fire a lot this Winter so I’m sure we will bump in to each other p.s I didn’t know you were from Russia. A.m.a.z.i.n.g – Russia is my fascination. x

    • I think I enjoy the colder periods in Perth cause it feels like the warmer periods go on foreverrrr!

      Yay! New blogger facts 🙂 You should take part in Melinda’s posts, she will be putting up new questions every Monday and one of the aims to them is to get to know the author of the blogs 😀

  4. It definately wont get freezing cold here in Perth over winter, nothing like the snow in Russia anyway! I agree theres nothing like snuggling up inside with a bowl of soup when its raining and cold outside 🙂

Leave a Reply

