Stop making plans;

I never planned to live in Perth, nor did I plan to stay here long (especially five years). Five years ago, I had all these plans written down; I was going to build a house in Devonport, and work somewhere nearby. But things came up & I was given a choice. I could of stayed in my hometown with all my friends and maybe someday, decided to make the leap but in 2006, I made that decision to try something new & if I didn’t like it, I could return.

Reading Olivia’s archived blog post ‘Plans vs Choices‘, it made me think back over the years and all the plans I’ve made that I just laugh at now. Majority were naive but most of them were a little unrealistic.  Sure it’s good to make plans into the future, to have a vision of where you see yourself or where you would like to go but I wish I knew then what I know now: Life cannot be planned.

Situations occur and decisions alter ‘the big plan of my life’. Nowadays, I have a list of things I would like to do and things I would like to achieve but I’ve also got a different mentality in that, if things on that list don’t happen, that’s okay. There is no point getting upset that things haven’t worked out the way you had planned, life is not a movie where you can yell ‘cut’ & edit things to be perfect. There’s far too many outside factors, things far beyond your control.

At the moment, all I have planned for the future is the possibility of a short holiday to Sydney & Melbourne at the end of the year. Nothing will be booked in until at least September & who knows what could come up in the next 3-4 months. If a better opportunity presents itself, I’m fine with that. I have no control of the direction my life takes but as long as I’m happy, there’s nothing to worry about.

This is just one of many reminders to myself to stop planning and to start living.

8 thoughts on “Stop making plans;

  1. this is basically the most perfect post. so, so true! i can really relate – especially to the plans that now seem laughable. hahaha. we live and learn though. it’s good to keep the whole plans vs choices distinction quite clear, it makes things much easier.

  2. This is a fantastic post, A! Through the years, and all the sh*t (and unforeseen events) that have happened in my life, I’ve learned to accept that there’s always going to be things that happen that we cannot control or change. Being open and willing to accept change, or plans not going as we expected or hoped, is of utmost importance in striving towards our goals. Otherwise, a simple unexpected shift in plans could easily make you give up or lose hope, if you’re open to some unknown factor messing with your plans, you’re more prepared to deal with it and move on (or keep striving towards your goal despite a setback or inconvenient change).

    • There’s nothing I love more about blogging than reading something that has such a powerful affect on me (such as the words written by Olivia). Glad I could pass on some food for thought 🙂

  3. I love your blog and I am glad I found it. I can exactly relate my situation with yours.You are right we should stop making plans and live in present moment because you never know what life has stored for you.
    Stay blessed girl.
    Vaidehi

Leave a Reply

