Brain Rules;

It was one of those classic situations. I was out looking for a book to buy a friend and went home with two for myself (and none for my friend!) One was the ‘Eat right for your (blood) type‘ by Peter D’Adamo and the other one was ‘Brain Rules‘ by John Medina as shown above.

I finished the first book months ago (when I first visited a naturopath in November as posted about here) but it wasn’t until this weekend that I finished the second. ‘Brain Rules’ is made up of 12 chapters so I wanted to have time to read each chapter, one at a time and have the time to absorb it aswell.

These are the 12 chapters outlined in the book:

– Exercise: Exercise boosts brain power

– Survival: The human brain evolved, too

– Wiring: Every brain is wired differently

– Attention: We don’t pay attention to boring things

– Short-term memory: Repeat to remember

– Long-term memory: Remember to repeat

– Sleep: Sleep well, think well

– Stress: Stressed brains don’t learn the same way

– Sensory integration: Stimulate more of the senses

– Vision: Vision trumps all other senses

– Gender: Male and female brains are different

– Exploration: We are powerful and natural explorers

If there’s any book that I would highly recommend- it’s this one. Yeah, the first principle is a fairly obvious one about how exercise stimulates brain activity but it’s also one that isn’t taken into consideration in work or study environments. How often are you under the pump & exercise is the last thing on your mind? I sure am guilty of this one but have made it one of my biggest efforts to include a walk here & there and the results are HUGE.

I was quite devastated however, to learn that although a number of people in the science and medicine field know that female and male brains are different and every brain is wired differently, this isn’t applied to the way we learn.

Take it upon yourself to read this book & understand the way brains work that is described in a simplified way.

3 thoughts on “Brain Rules;

  1. I notice such a difference in my mood and productivity if I don’t exercise. Some days my motivation is low or I’m feeling too tired so I skip going to the gym, and that often results in me just sitting around being lazy all day. If I go to the gym in the morning, I tend to get so much more done throughout the day.

    • I’m all about short breaks between work/study to go outside, get some fresh air and walk around the block. Helps so much! I find that waking up at 5:45 is tiring enough though without getting up earlier to exercise :/

Leave a Reply

