Hungry for change;

After speaking to Alex on Monday night, I made the decision I need to cut back on the amount of processed sugar in my life. I managed to go Tuesday through to Friday morning with no chocolate/sweets but going cold turkey probably wasn’t the best option for me; on Friday morning, I woke up with a raging headache, on the verge of being sick and I hadn’t even had breakfast yet.

I guess it must of been a huge shock to my body, going from 2-6 pieces (sometimes more) of Lindt chocolate per night + a chocolate bar a day after lunch. That’s roughly 44.9g of sugar per day….which is equal to 9 teaspoons of sugar! (Nevermind all the other foods hidden with sugar)

It’s funny the timing of it all because on Friday, when I was still feeling sick and low on sugar, Veganism, a page I follow on Facebook posted about sugar. I would love for everyone to take the time to read it but here’s an extract that really hit me:

“And yet, when it comes down to it, sugar controls their behaviour. If they don’t have their sugar in the morning (in their coffee, pancakes and cereals), sugar at lunch (in the salad dressing, pasta sauce, soda and restaurant food) and sugar at dinner (there’s sugar in pizza, ketchup and BBQ sauce, plus virtually all restaurant foods), then they suffer serious withdrawal symptoms and go crazy with moodiness and irritability. They start blaming everyone around them for silly things, and they may even become sweaty and light-headed”

I remembered the video that Alex mentioned the other night called ‘Hungry for change’ which really made my decision final. Processed sugars do not have a place in my life!

Have you seen the ‘Hungry for change‘ documentary? Has it changed the way you eat? You can view 20 minutes of it HERE for free.

4 thoughts on “Hungry for change;

  1. Making the decision to change is the hardest bit. You might cave in a few times but the longer you last before the next hit of chocolate, the easier it will get, and you’ll last longer and longer the next time. If you dont buy it you wont be tempted to eat it, so stay away from the chocolate isle!

    • Oh don’t worry, I’ll definitely be staying clear of shops for a while! Went a little crazy shopping in the city this weekend!

      It’s the chocolate at home that is only eaten by me that’s the problem! Think I better hide it so it’s out of sight!

  2. I want to see that documentary – it’s so “me”! As you know I am so interested in health and I’ve read so many books on this topic. I rarely eat sugar, and when I do, I make sure it’s either organic, good quality (few ingredients, all natural ingredients) and/or home made (so I know exactly what’s going into it). I enjoy making healthy treats, raw food has long been an interest of mine and making raw food treats is so much fun. I never eat processed foods (things with ingredients lists longer than my arm, and words I cannot pronounce) or fast food (wouldn’t dream of setting my food in McDonalds or the like). And one of the main reasons I have a love/hate relationship to dining out is because it always gives me a stomach ache and makes me feel bloated and gross, likely because my body is not used to the added sugar/fat that comes with eating at restaurants. And that’s even at the good “clean” restaurants I choose when I occasionally go out to eat. As you can tell, this is a topic I could go on about forever…

Leave a Reply

