My other home;

Melbourne stole my heart on this particular visit. I don’t know if it was because I was showing a Perth friend around and I got to slow down and take it all in again, or if it was because I now have so many friends living there. Whatever it was, it was hard to get on that plane back to Perth & it took me a while to get over my visit.

Here’s a few snaps of the highlights of my visit to Melbourne:

Max Brenner, YUM!

Max Brenner, YUM!

I don't think I'll ever stop admiring the view from the Southbank!

I don’t think I’ll ever stop admiring the view from the Southbank!

Brunswick St, Fitzroy

Brunswick St, Fitzroy

Vegie Bar, Fitzroy

Vegie Bar, Fitzroy

The view from The Lui Bar, 55 levels above

The view from The Lui Bar, 55 levels above

I can't help revisiting the same places- Madam Brussel's cocktail jugs never disappoint!

I can’t help revisiting the same places- Madame Brussel’s cocktail jugs never disappoint!

Drinks on the last day with a Perth friend @ Ponyfish Island. Melbourne was showing off on this day!

Drinks on the last day with a Perth friend @ Ponyfish Island. Melbourne was showing off on this day!

I’ve also made a list of my favourite eating & drinking spots if anyone is going there anytime soon:

EAT:

Vegie Bar, Fitzroy (I cannot recommend this place enough! everything is so fresh and affordable!)

The Atlantic, Southbank (good for anything out of the water, I would recommend getting the whole burramundi de-filleted though, that was a rookie mistake on my behalf)

Chocolate Buddha, CBD (awesome Japanese restaurant in Federation Square)

La Citta, CBD (Italian restaurant on Degraves St, one of the main laneways in the CBD)

Don Vincenzo, Fitzroy (cute little breakfast spot on Brunswick St that is gluten free friendly)

Rare Steakhouse, CBD (good steak that doesn’t break the budget!)

Five66, CBD (corner of Flinders & Spencer; their veggie omelette is to die for!)

DRINK:

Lui Bar, CBD (get there before the sun sets!)

Berlin Bar, CBD (it’s divided into two bars to represent east & west which is AWESOME)

New Gold Mountain, CBD (be ready for lots of stairs! so worth it though)

The Carlton, CBD (awesome atmosphere)

Captain Baxter, St Kilda (new place!)

Section 8, CBD (good for live outdoor music, you must try grandma’s peach punch!)

Madame Brussels, CBD (yummy cheese platters, chocolate fondue and the sangria and gin jugs are delish!)

Ponyfish Island, CBD (under the bridge, awesome any time of year)

One thought on “My other home;

Leave a Reply

