Disconnecting;

 photo photo-8_zps9957aceb.jpg

I found this quote last week…..somewhere on the internet (thank god there’s a tag; via Striking Truths) and could not believe the timing. After a busy start to 2013, with work picking up at an increasing speed and uni also doing the same (thanks Murphy for your stupid law), I said yes to a last minute trip with my bestie. Considering the fact we haven’t spent more than a whole day alone in a year is a crazy thought (group catch ups with friends in Melbourne &Sydney last year don’t count).

So as you read this, I’m on my way to the airport for a week in Broome for quality, relaxing time with my best friend, S. I’m bringing my tablet with me to do some study but other than that, I plan to read, write and relax by the pool and have big chats with S.

Can I do 5 days with no social media or my phone? For someone that spends a crazy amount of time on Instagram…we’ll see about that one!

x

5 thoughts on “Disconnecting;

  1. I’ve seen this quote (or similar) around the internets a couple of times and I really like it. Now that the weather is better and the sun is out (at least every once in a while), I find myself doing exactly these things more often. Like looking up at the sky and taking in the beauty of the real world. I wander around smiling and sighing when it’s sunny. Which, by the way, is SO typically Swedish – we’re crazy about the sun since we get it so seldom.

    • The sun & the warmth is a beautiful thing! After spending the past week in 35 degree weather on the beach & then coming back to 21 degree windy weather, I’m regretting how much I didn’t take it the warmth as much as I should of! (degrees are in celcius) x

  2. This is my first time seeing this quote, love it! I think that’s a great little challenge. 5 days without social media; no phone, computer, tablet, etc… I’m like you, I travel, blog, and stay connected with people all over the world and it’s important – but the thought of no social media makes me smile knowing how refreshing it would be, but also how difficult it would be! 🙂

    I don’t even know how I stumbled upon this blog, but I’m glad I did!! Great stuff! Keep it up!

    Hemad

    • Thank you for your comment & I’m glad you found my blog, I’m loving yours!

      I actually thought I’d have no reception which is why I said 5 days with NO social media however I was surprised when I had full service with the worst tele provider in Aus!

      So instead, I had limited time on social media! I kept my phone on flight mode the whole trip and checked facebook/twitter/instagram etc in blocks (every few hours instead of notifications going off and interrupting my quality time with bestie).

      Look forward to reading some of your stuff Hemad!

      Anna

  3. Oh, I love that quote! I had to pin it. I’m sure with your uni schedule and also having a blog that you are the same as me and know how difficult it is to switch off from that sort of technology completely! But whenever I do – wow, I feel amazing and so blissed out 🙂

Leave a Reply

