U p d a t e ;

This past week has been a total mix bag! There were plans, celebrations, exciting news, accidents & last minute adventures. Above all, I cannot believe how much I have shifted mentally. Waking up this morning, I couldn’t believe how well I handled situations that were supposed to ‘stress’ me out & how much one single outing has occupied so much of my brain space (totally unexpected as well).

Photo taken in Bar Lafayette in the Brookfield Place

Friday night, I went out with some work/uni girls to a property function that was organised by the young property professionals for under 35’s in the industry. Drinks & nibbles were organised at The Terrace Hotel where we mingled with others in the industry. It was a great success! And the Terrace Hotel looks INCREDIBLE since the renovation. If you’re a interior nerd like myself, you will love this place. Exposed brick (like the wall I snapped at Bar Lafayette the night before), wide timber floorboards and the most beautiful wallpaper in the dining area. Their dinner menu looks pretty damn delicious too!

Saturday afternoon, when I was only 1 minute away from meeting a friend for a coastal walk, I got swiped by a 4WD. Luckily we were approaching the lights so it wasn’t as bad as it could of been. Yeah, it’s a total inconvenience taking my car into the panel beaters twice in one week to get assessed but my scratches are minor; I can still drive….I just get the biggest looks from passby-ers and majority drive past me FAST, thinking I’m the bad driver, HA!

On Sunday, after an early breakfast date at Bib & Tucker followed by a pump class, I got a message from a friend wondering if I had finished exams yet. He was at work and needed to run a jet ski for a client (he works at one of the marinas in Perth) so within an hour, I’m in my shorts & sandals driving to Fremantle, making the most of the glorious winter weather we’ve been having. We ended up riding the jet ski from Fremantle to the city for a drink at The Lucky Shag. We saw dozens of dolphins along the way (gosh those guys live THE life!) and of course not long after, we get smashed by a wave on the way to the city which left me thinking I was about to freeze to death (I came pretty close with my brain freezing, ouch!). Fun Sunday afternoon though.

Tuesday night, I finally celebrated end of exams with my uni/work girls. We went to The Aviary for some mulled wine followed by dinner at Jamie’s Italian. The wait time is decreasing for those not booking weeks ahead; we only waited an hour to be seated after putting our name down at 5:45pm. I was VERY tempted to order the same main as last time but luckily picked another winning dish (Honeycomb Cannelloni 3 ways). For entree, we shared the pumpkin & smoked mozzarella nachos, crispy squid, stuffed peppers and crispy stuffed risotto balls. For dessert, there was warm brownie, tutti fruitti lemon meringue pie and a chocolate pot to share (can’t say a lot of sharing was involved in the end!) We shared a bottle of ‘Montepulciano D’Abruzzo‘ and I don’t even drink red wine but loved this one!

Last night, I went to the Bliss n Eso concert and although I’ve heard of Yelawolf, I didn’t actually listen to any of his music. Bliss n Eso are my favourite Australia Hip Hop act so I never doubted their choice in support acts but when Yelawolf came on, I was blown away. His style is like nothing I’ve heard recently & his stage presence was too good. His American-ism took me back to my time there & some of the people I was hanging out with. It made me miss them so much but also so excited about my trip back next year. More than anything, watching Yelawolf reminded me of someone that hurt me really bad recently. The voice, the clothing, the face & the tattoos. Maybe I haven’t quite gotten over it or maybe I’m not supposed to just yet but man, feels like an old cut that needs to heal again. Question is, do I leave it covered or wide open?

Total mix bag! 

5 thoughts on “U p d a t e ;

  1. Wow you have been busy. Im glad your ok other than your poor car, its just a pain when your car gets damaged all the running around to fix it when it wasnt your fault 😦 sux big time! I really should check out Jamies Italian cant believe youve been twice, must be good food 🙂 Take care on the roads miss! x

  2. Isn’t it crazy how a song can take you back to the exact time/place/person that you shared it with? I’ve had that happen to me a ton lately. I’ve un-starred a few songs on Spotify for that reason, actually – ha!

    So sorry about your car. What a bummer. At least you’ll get pretty new panels out of the deal!

    • Luckily I can still listen to this artist without getting TOO upset. Phew!

      P.S how amazing is Spotify?? I’ve just loaded up my ipad with hours of music for my flight tonight….those things never run out of battery!

  3. Total mixed bag!
    That sucks to your car grrrrrr. My car is badly scratched from experiences of driving and parking in a laneway out back of King Street … agree people really do avoid you on the road as they do think your a bad driver lol
    Can’t wait to hear about your QLD / Byron mixed bag xx

Leave a Reply

