I’m quitting sugar!

Day 1 of quitting and this is what someone brings into the office!

On the 1st of August, I started the month with a massive goal in mind. I committed to an 8 week sugar free challenge by Sarah Wilson over at I Quit Sugar. I actually started 2013 with a sugar & alcohol ban for five & a half weeks so I have no doubt I will be able to do 8 weeks. My reasons for quitting sugar this time are very different though.

Lately, I’ve found myself reaching for countless cookies at work whenever I need a break/feeling pressured/whatever reason to be honest. When you can’t even recall the amount of cookies you’ve had, you know you’ve had too many. And it doesn’t stop there either. I’ll eat close to a block of Lindt a night and would eat more if there was more. Then there’s the after lunch treats, whatever bar is on special and there seems to be cake in the kitchen every second day.

Combine all this sugar & lack of exercise due to a sore ankle and you will have one VERY crap feeling girl.

Richard Johnson couldn’t have summed me up more perfectly this week:

“They are fat because they eat too much and exercise too little. But they eat too much and exercise too little because they’re addicted to sugar, which not only makes them fatter but, after the initial sugar rush, also saps their energy, beaching them on the couch. “The reason you’re watching TV is not because TV is so good,” he said, “but because you have no energy to exercise, because you’re eating too much sugar.”

When I posted to facebook last week, saying that the biggest dessert head (me) is quitting sugar, I had a few friends laugh & one asked why would I cut out the things I love? and can’t I eat sugar in moderation?

The answer is there is no such thing as moderation when it comes to sugar for me. I either eat everything in sight or I don’t go near it. There is no one square of Lindt….it’s gotta be the whole block. And as much as I love my desserts and little treats, they no longer satisfy me.

Just reading some of the ways sugar messes with your health is enough for me to walk away from desserts FOR GOOD. Why eat organic, raw food that is nothing but good for the body when all I’m doing with sugar is messing up the mineral balance in the body? And when I need every bit of my brain to concentrate on this last semester of uni & do a good job at work, sugar is no good for me.

So over the next 8 weeks, ending 29th September, I will be staying away from chocolates, biscuits, pastries and wine (plus a lot more). And for a few weeks, fruit as well. My birthday happens to be in 3 weeks time, right near the fruit detox stage which is fine because I’ve signed up myself & 3 girlfriends to walk/jog 12km’s in the City2Surf (and it’s not too late to register!) so I’ll be keeping myself busy by training for that.

This is my statement to the world to see: I will quit sugar.

Anyone else tried doing a sugar free challenge or interested in doing this with me?

7 thoughts on “I’m quitting sugar!

  1. Hehe you are so like me!
    I announced on FB a while back about quitting and my friends said the same. But yes, there’s no such thing as moderation for me. The desire for sugar is stronger than my fullness!!!
    Good Luck! I’m joining you hehe

  2. Good luck with it, declaring it to the world should help you stick to it too!
    Iv stopped having sugar in my coffee and dont really snack on sweet stuff. We get fruitbox at my work so I snack on fruit and avoid the biscuit tin 😉
    The first week Im sure will be the hardest, but you’ll get through it.

    • It’s the fruit that I need to replace now! But I downloaded a free app that told me snacks I can have that don’t have sugar in them & I love all those snacks thankfully so it shouldn’t be too bad 🙂

Leave a Reply

