Back in Sydney;

On my way to Auckland a few weeks ago, I did a 3 day stop over in Sydney. It’s been a year since I was last there & I’ve been saving a list of places to check out since then.

On the first day, I caught up with a friend for drinks at Watson’s Bay Beach Club. We caught the ferry across where you can check out all the gorgeous coastal houses along the way (my fave). For an early dinner, we went to Jamie’s Italian which is a favourite of mine in Perth (check out photos from a visit here) and I couldn’t believe how much better the Sydney restaurant was (sorry Perth). I got exactly the same dishes (aracini balls for starters, 3 way cannelloni for mains and brownie for dessert).

Travelling in December is so beautiful. Everywhere you look, there’s christmas decorations! This was a little something in the Darling Harbour:

On my second day, I hired a car & drove out to Balmoral Beach for breakfast.

The boathouse/boatshed came highly recommended. It’s situated on the water with yummy food & the most gorgeous decor.

After breakfast, I drove to the Central Coast to visit my friend J in Umina. J & I were really good friends back in NZ when we were 8 & although I’ve seen her since she left NZ, we’ve mainly kept in touch over letters & facebook the last 15 years. It was so crazy to see J, her sister, her mum & even her nana because it’s been so long yet they all still look the same as what I remember. We all had a little catch up, remembering  funny things from when we were growing up & then J took me to Terrigal for lunch. Such a beautiful coastal town!

Terrigal Beach

Terrigal coast

On my last day, I headed down to Bondi first thing, got a juice from Lamrock Cafe & then walked along the coast to Bronte. The Bondi to Bronte coastal walk is quite a popular one & I was really regretting not wearing my sneakers on this day!

The over photographed, Bondi Icebergs cafe/pool

The view to Bronte

I had the most incredible breakfast at G’Day Bronte & I would highly recommend the coastal walk with the reward of breakfast at the end!

Some other Bondi recommendations:

Porch (cute little cafe a short walk from the beach)

Deli Bottega (situated off the main strip but good food & the owner is super lovely)

& what I definitely don’t recommend: forgetting your bathers at home/in your hotel on a sunny Bondi day. Good thing there’s a few shops in Bondi that will sort you out (a girl can never have enough pairs right?)

Until next time Sydney!

3 thoughts on “Back in Sydney;

  1. […] There was no time to rest before dinner with an old Perth friend & then an opportunity night presented by a dear friend. I see PK share her vision & get excited about her biggest passion, young people living life by their own design ALL the time but it seriously never gets old! Saturday & Sunday was all about learning & stretching & growing. I was also lucky enough to be part of a leadership training session on the Saturday night & we all walked away with so many golden nuggets from very inspiring people. Sunday night, I caught up with an old friend from school. I attended high school in Perth for a brief 3 months in early 2007 & was lucky to meet some incredible people, G being one of them. Although I’ve seen her at parties and birthdays since 2007, we never actually hung out 1 on 1. Sunday night, we went out for sangria & tapas and just bonded. She’s been in Sydney for the last year & having moved cities just before we met, I remember just how isolating it can be at the beginning. I gave her some tips based on my hindsight & walked away from that dinner skipping down the road with the biggest smile on my face. As of late, I’ve been attracting so many like minded people into my life, new & old. And watching a Wayne Dyer documentary last night, I guess he was right when he said, “We don’t attract what we want, we attract what we are”. Monday was the day I was most excited about. Every time I come to Sydney, I try spend as much time as I can in Bondi because it’s up there in my top 5 happy places. I spent the morning walking from Bondi to Coogee which took an hour or so. New South Wales has one of the most gorgeous coast lines (you can see more of it from my previous visit). […]

Leave a Reply

