Yin Yoga;

 photo yin_zpsb1652e9e.jpg

 

Last weekend, I attended a 3 hour Yin Yoga workshop, put on by Yoga Grooves. I didn’t even know what Yin Yoga was until earlier this year when I went to a free Lululemon yoga class at one of their stores but it’s now a class I regularly attend & always on the look out for more places that run it (not many do!)

Yin Yoga is a slow-paced style of yoga with poses (asanas) that are held for longer periods of time, anywhere from three to five minutes or longer.  Yin Yoga poses apply moderate stress to the connective tissues – the tendons, fascia and the ligaments with the aim of increasing circulation in the joints and improving flexibility.

In the workshop, run by Fiona from Yoga Grooves, I learnt all about qi and how Yin Yoga is designed to improve the flow of it through the meridian pathways in the body. It is known that improved qi flow helps with organ health, immunity and emotional well-being.

I am dying to get back to Yoga Barn in Bali because they offer Yin Yoga Healing classes, which focus on different organs and it was by far, one of the best classes I’ve attended.

I’m gathering a list of Yin Yoga classes all around the world so if you know of any, send them my way!

 

7 thoughts on “Yin Yoga;

  1. Hi, I’m a yin yoga lover too 🙂 The most well known yin teacher in Melbourne is Jennifer Crescenzo, she’s teaching at several studios across town – I’ve put a full summary in the free Best of Yoga guide (a 50+ pages guide to yoga in Melbourne). It’s on my website should you want to take a look 🙂

    Best,
    Andrea

  2. Hi Anna, I just randomly came across this article! So glad you enjoyed my Yin Yoga workshop and that it has opened your mind to a new way of journeying into your body 🙂 Hope to see you on the mat again soon x

  3. Hi Anna, I just randomly came across this article! So glad you enjoyed my Yin Yoga workshop and that it has opened your mind to a new way of journeying into your body 🙂 Hope to see you on the mat again soon for some more Yinspiration x

Leave a Reply

